Closing Your Account

While we don't want any of our users to leave, we understand that sometimes it's just not a good fit. Or maybe you won the lottery and it's time to retire!  Either way, when it's time, it's time.

You can close your account at any time. We don't impose contracts or early termination fees on our users.

Before you close your OwnerRez account, be sure to review our Disable or Re-enable a Property support article first.

How to close

As you close your account, make sure to log into your primary account, not a Team Access account.

To close your OwnerRez account, go to your account billing page on the lower left navigation menu.

To close your OwnerRez account, go to your account billing page on the lower left navigation menu.

At the top right side of the screen, select Close Account.At the top right side of the screen, select Close Account.The next page provides some helpful options before you make such a significant decision.If you decide to close your account (which we hope you won’t!), we have redesigned that page to provide some helpful options before you make such a significant decision.The Close Account page will summarize what will be deleted or disabled, along with a brief required question about your reason for canceling your subscription.The Close Account page will summarize what will be deleted or disabled, along with a brief required question about your reason for canceling your subscription.

The following items are disabled or deleted: Scheduled payments, Scheduled security deposits, Release any outstanding security deposit holds, Triggers, Channel Integration Connections, Calendar Imports, Hosted Websites, Widgets, and Damage Protection.

Please take a minute to tell us why you are leaving. We greatly appreciate feedback from our users. Even if there's no chance you'll ever return, please share a few words about how we can improve in the future.

Click the Cancel my subscription button, and that's it - by default, your account stays open until the end of your current billing cycle, and you keep access until then. If you click "Close my account immediately instead of waiting until the end of my billing cycle," your account will close right away, and you will not be able to log back in or access any OwnerRez bookings, guests, or other data afterward.

Invoice period and using the time you've paid for

It's important to understand that when you close your account, OwnerRez allows users to retain access until the end of their current billing cycle.

Based on your most recent invoice, you can close your account even if many days remain in the current billing period. If you want to use your invoice period, OwnerRez shows the Pending account closure date with a red label on your Account > Billing page. It might be a good idea to set a reminder to close your account at the end of the invoice period, before your billing day of the month comes again.Depending on your most recent invoice, you can close your account even if there are still many days remaining in the current billing period. If you want to use your invoice period, OwnerRez shows the Pending account closure date with a red label on your Account > Billing page. It might be a good idea to set a reminder to close your account at the end of the invoice period, before your billing day of the month comes again. 

OwnerRez does not issue refunds for any unused time in an invoice period when an account is closed. This is stated in our refund policy and terms of service, which every user agrees to when joining.

Reactivating a closed account

We are often asked whether an account can be reopened after it is closed. The short answer is yes; however, there is manual work you will need to do upon reopening.

When an OwnerRez account is closed, many things are turned off, including, but not limited to:

  • Scheduled payments
  • Scheduled security deposits and any outstanding security deposit holds are released
  • Triggers
  • Scheduled booking emails
  • Third-party alerts
  • QuickBooks syncs
  • Forum subscriptions
  • Channel Integration Connections
  • Calendar Import/Exports
  • Hosted Websites
  • SSL certificates
  • Widgets
  • Damage Protection
  • Scheduled credit card payments
  • Property Share connections
  • Access grants

We need to ensure that all background processes are stopped, so several items are checked and flagged when an account is closed.

It may be financially beneficial to keep your account open rather than close it and reactivate it later, if that is your plan.

Pausing accounts for seasonal use

Some of our users operate seasonally, meaning their off-season is truly empty.  Because of this, they will ask whether they can pause or close their account during the season to save on the monthly OwnerRez fee.

In practical terms, pausing an account is the same as closing it.  In order to really pause it - such that channel integration connections, calendars, websites, etc., all stop - the account has to undergo the same work as listed in the bullet list above.

As a result, we do not pause or freeze accounts.  We will close them, of course, but then you will have to reactivate and reestablish things as discussed above.

In truth, you should not pause your OwnerRez account for seasonal use anyway. We've found that this is a bad business model. Vacation rental businesses are fluid throughout the year. Even if you only book 3 or 4 months of the year, your website and other marketing materials need time online to build good Page Rank, SEO value, and social media following, which is the case even during the off-season. If you turn off your website, widgets, and marketing except during the on-season, customers are not exposed to your brand except for those brief months, and then you disappear from the internet again. It's better to price your season high in advance and drive business before the season arrives.  Then, as the season arrives, adjust your business accordingly. Give your customers a reason to follow you and the ability to find you year-round and your on-season will be better for it.